Councillors: *The Mayor (Councillor Peacock), *The Deputy Mayor (Councillor Bull); Councillors *Adamou, *Adje, *Aitken, *Basu, *Bax, *Beacham, *Bevan, *Blanchard, *Bloch, *Herbie Brown, *Jean Brown, *Canver, *Davidson, *Davies, *Dawson, *Diakides, *Dillon, *Dobbie, *Dodds, *Edge, *Engert *Fabian, *Featherstone, *Floyd, *Gilbert, *Griffith, Haley, *Hare, *Harris, *Hillman, *Hoban, *GMMH Rahman Khan, *Knight, *Krokou, Lister, Makanji, *Manheim, *Meehan, *Millar, *Milner, *Oatway, *Patel, *Erline Prescott, *Quincy Prescott, *Reith, *Reynolds, *Rice, *Robertson, *Santry, *Simpson, *Stanton, *Sulaiman, *Williams, *Winskill and *Wynne.

1. **ELECTION OF MAYOR:** The Mayor called for Nominations for the Office of Mayor for the Municipal Year 2004/05. Councillor Alan Dobbie moved and Councillor Ray Dodds seconded that Councillor Sheila Peacock be elected Mayor.

The Mayor having put the motion to the meeting, the Council:

RESOLVED:

- 1. That Councillor Sheila Peacock be elected Mayor for the Municipal Year 2004/05.
- 2. The Mayor made and signed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office, which was witnessed by Councillors Dobbie and Dodds.
- 3. The Mayor then addressed the Council, gave thanks for her election and outlined her objectives for her year of office.
- 4. The Mayoress, Sarah Singer, was then invested with the Badge of Office.
- **2. APOLOGIES:** Apologies for absence were received from Councillors Lister and Makanji.

3. MINUTES:

Copies of the Minutes of the last meeting having been circulated, were taken as read.

RESOLVED:

That the minutes of the meeting of the Council held on 26 April 2004 be signed as a true record.

4. APPOINTMENT OF DEPUTY MAYOR:

The Chief Executive reported that the Mayor had signified in writing the appointment of Councillor Gideon Bull as Deputy Mayor for the ensuing year.

Councillor Bull was invested with his Badge of Office. The Deputy Mayoress, Jean E Brown, was then invested with her badge of office.

^{*} Members present

5. VOTE OF THANKS:

A vote of thanks to the retiring Mayor and Mayoress and the retiring Deputy Mayor and Deputy Mayoress was moved by Councillor George Meehan and seconded by Councillor Neil Williams.

The retiring Mayor was presented with a badge marking her year of office.

RESOLVED:

That the Council extend to the retiring Mayor, Councillor Erline Prescott, the retiring Mayoress Ann Marie Whittingham, the retiring Deputy Mayor, Councillor Sheila Peacock, and the retiring Deputy Mayoress, Sarah Singer, its sincere thanks and appreciation for the services they had rendered to the Borough during the past year.

The retiring Mayor addressed the Council.

6. MAYOR'S COMMUNICATIONS:

The Mayor reported that her chosen charity was Haringey Borough Swimming Club.

The Mayor presented Councillor George Meehan with a certificate and scrap book, acknowledging his contribution to the Borough as Leader of the Council. Councillor Adje spoke of the Leader's achievements during his time in office.

7. AMENDMENTS TO HARINGEY'S CONSTITUTION (Report of the Chief Executive – agenda item 8):

The Mayor agreed to the admission of this report as urgent business. The report set out details of amendments to the Council's reformatted Constitution, which had just been finalised. The report needed to be considered by the Council in order to agree amendment of the Constitution.

It was moved by Councillor Rice, Chair of General Purposes Committee, and duly seconded and,

RESOLVED:

- 1. That, subject to the Officer (Management) Structure Schedule (Part K5) being amended to show that the Director of Finance is responsible for the Pension Fund and the reporting arrangements for Alexandra Palace, the latest version of the Constitution in a new format, incorporating the various changes agreed by Council be noted and that the following amendments be agreed pursuant to section 37 of the Local Government Act 2000:
 - the latest Budget and Policy Framework (Appendix A to the report

 as tabled).
 - the establishment of the new Remuneration Committee with the terms of reference and membership as set out in Paragraph 4.3 of

the report.

- the change in the Executive portfolio for "Lifelong Learning" to "Education and Lifelong Learning" (Part H3 of the Constitution).
- the latest Officer management structure (Appendix B to the report).
- those changes to the Committee structure as detailed in the list of appointments to Committees.
- 2. That the Head of Members and Democratic Services be delegated authority following consultation with the Chair of General Purposes Committee to agree typographical and cross reference changes and other minor amendment to the Constitution.
- 3. That Davina Fiore, Head of Legal Services, be appointed as the Monitoring Officer.

8. ELECTION OF LEADER OF THE COUNCIL:

Councillor Reynolds proposed that Councillor Charles Adje be elected Leader of the Council. Councillor Santry seconded.

RESOLVED:

That Councillor Charles Adje be elected Leader of the Council.

9. PROCEDURE FOR APPOINTMENTS TO THE EXECUTIVE, COMMITTEES, SUB-COMMITTEES FOR THE MUNICIPAL YEAR 2003/04, INCLUDING SELECTION OF CHAIRS AND DEPUTIES (Report of the Chief Executive – Agenda item 10).

The Mayor agreed to the admission of this report as urgent business. Appointments had only recently been finalised at Party Group Meetings and needed approval to permit committees to be convened.

It was moved by Councillor Reynolds and duly seconded and,

RESOLVED:

- 1. That the process for appointing to the Executive, Committees, Sub-Committees and Chairs be approved on the "slate" basis prescribed.
- 2. That the membership of the Executive be agreed as attached at Appendix 1.

That the membership of committees, sub-committees and appointment of Chairs be agreed as attached at Appendix 1.

10. APPOINTMENTS TO OUTSIDE BODIES:

The Mayor agreed to the admission of this report as urgent business. Appointments had only recently been finalised at Party Group Meetings and needed approval to permit appointments to outside organisations to be made.

It was moved by Councillor Reynolds and duly seconded and,

RESOLVED:

- 1. That the appointments to outside bodies be approved, as detailed at Appendix 2.
- 2. That appointments to school governing bodies be noted.

11. REPORT OF THE CHIEF EXECUTIVE:

The Mayor agreed to the admission of this report as urgent business as it dealt with matters considered at Party Group meetings within the last few days.

RESOLVED:

That the composition of the following political groups be noted:

The Labour Group

Leader: Councillor Charles Adje Deputy Leader: Councillor Denis Dillon

Chief Whip: Councillor Richard Reynolds

Chair: Councillor Reg Rice
Deputy Chair: Councillor Harry Lister
Secretary: Councillor Alan Dobbie

Assistant Whips: Councillors Brian Haley & Jayanti Patel

Councillors:

Adamou Canver Knight Erline Prescott

Wynne

Basu Davidson Krokou Quincy Prescott

Bax Dawson Makanji GMMH Rahman Khan

Manheim Reith Bevan Diakides Blanchard Dodds Meehan Roberson Herbert Brown Griffith Millar Santry Milner Sulaiman Jean Brown Harris

Bull Hillman Peacock Stanton

The Liberal Democrat Group

Leader: Councillor Neil Williams
Deputy Leader: Councillor Wayne Hoban
Councillor Chief Whip: Councillor Ron Aitken

Group Chair Councillor Stephen Gilbert

Councillors:

Beacham Oatway
Bloch Simpson
Davies Winskill

Edge

Engert

Fabian

Featherstone

Floyd

Hare

SHEILA PEACOCK Mayor